Home » Uncategorized » Am I Ready for Readers?

Am I Ready for Readers?

Old fashioned conservative

This is the picture my husband came up with when I told him the name of my blog. (credit: Rodney O’Neal)

I’ve always been opinionated. My mom could probably write a book about how that started at an early age. I’ve always had a finely tuned sense of right and wrong, of fairness and truth. As soon as I knew the truth about something, I felt it my duty to share that with others. So, at age seven, I was telling my classmates that there was no Santa Claus, and at age thirteen I shook my head at any girl who thought she would grow up to marry one of the New Kids on the Block. Children don’t see shades of gray. In fact, I managed to avoid gray most of my life.

I believe the Bible. I believe that it doesn’t just contain God’s words, but it is God’s Word. I prefer the KJV for reasons that would bore most people, and I believe that God created the world in six literal days only a few millennia ago. For these reasons, I call myself a fundamentalist.

Like most fundamentalists, I think there is a lot of black and white in the world. If you read my blog long enough, I hope some things will be evident. I hope you’ll see that Jesus was and is a real person to me. I hope you’ll see that God is love, and it’s our understanding of love that is flawed. I hope you’ll see that Christians and conservatives should use their hearts and their brains.

Want to hear something that’s a surprise, even to me? I’m beginning to think that Libertarians are on to something, that some of those gray areas are larger than I initially thought.

When I was in high school, I thought I’d like to grow up and have a huge audience of people who listened to me talk about politics, like Rush Limbaugh. Today, my role models are Michele Bachmann, Ann Coulter, Michelle Malkin, and even Sarah Palin. I don’t agree with everything any one of them says, but I love the female face of conservatism. It’s intelligent and diverse and actually feminine.

I have lots to say. Just now, I noticed I’m talking about myself a lot. But, my blog is still young. The news of the day will soon take precedent over my opinion of it. But, for now, I’m wondering if I’m ready for people to hear my opinions.

Last night, as I shared my blog post with my friends on Facebook, I debated if I wanted to Tweet it. I didn’t put it on Pinterest. What am I afraid of? Well, I have something of a small following in geek circles. What they expect from me is info about books, video games and social media trends. Am I ready for them to know the real me? Will I lost Pinterest followers if I start a Christian pin board? Should it matter?

I’ve been talking to my friends about crossing over into political writing, and the majority advice was to keep it separate from my current work. After all, keeping the personal separate from the professional is the professional thing to do. If I lose readers, I lose money.

What if, what if, what if? What if I’m not ready for readers?

BlogHer’s blog-writing prompts for this month are centered around the idea of “risk.” I’ve taken the first risk and made this blog, even though it’s not perfect. I’ll be taking the second risk and publishing this piece. Now, what will I do with it? Will I share it on Facebook? Will I add a link to it in the BlogHer “soup” post? Will I Tweet it, Pin it?

I’d love to hear your opinions. I may have to grow a thick skin really quickly because of some of the things I’ve already said, but I still want to hear it.

7 thoughts on “Am I Ready for Readers?

  1. On Facebook the other day, my friend Nicole posted a quote by Aristotle: “There is only one way to avoid criticism: do nothing, say nothing, and be nothing.”

    Keep writing, doing, and saying who you are called to be! Just like with your role models, we won’t all agree with what you say all or maybe even most of the time, but putting it out there for us to consider is still extremely important for everyone.

  2. I keep my personal tweets separate from my book review stuff. It’s mainly because I consider book reviewing to be a ‘job’ and I don’t need publishers and authors having to wade through sports, politics, cute dogs, etc. in order to know whether I’m good at my job.

    Having said that, I’m using my book review name to post here because it’s my WordPress account. I am in the process of setting up a different WordPress blog, however, and will try to remember to use that username instead once it’s going 🙂

    In the meantime, with regard to my personal Twitter account, you take me as I am or not at all. I’m never going to sing someone else’s tune even if it would make me more popular. I don’t care for Twitter being a popularity game.

Leave a Reply

