Home » Uncategorized » My Day Job is Reporting on Video Games.

My Day Job is Reporting on Video Games.

My Day Job

My day job is reporting on video games. (image: Rodney O’Neal)

I am an avid World of Warcraft player. Ever since my husband introduced me to the game a few years ago, I have enjoyed spending evenings with my friends online. To keep a Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game (MMORPG) fresh for players, the developers come up with major expansions and, In between, patches with small doses of new content.

There was a new patch yesterday, and I wrote a little guide to the changes on the game’s farm. Today, I was reading forums to see what people have to say about the patch, and I came across something that at once made me sad and a little excited because, as a journalist, controversy is good.

It turns out that a small, unannounced change was made that has made it impossible for a blind player to participate in Player-versus-Player (PvP) content. Many people asked how a blind person could even play a video game, but the answer is: with a little technology and a lot of supportive friends.

If you want to know more about it, you can read my article at Examiner.com. You can also watch Jarrod’s introduction video, featuring his guide dog.

Allie’s Geek Tweets: @GirlGeekAllie

Allie’s Conservative Tweets: @alliesings

PS: This was posted a little after midnight because I was exchanging email with one of Jarrod’s guildmates. More to come!

2 thoughts on “My Day Job is Reporting on Video Games.

Leave a Reply

